here is the chain stitch practice piece finally finished….i started it so long ago that i didn;t know whether to label it under UFO’s or not…. but at any rate..here it is.
I call these things stitch practices because i am not really exploring all the variations of a sttich, I am just practicing making the stitch with ONE thread and ONE parameter. In this case it was using DMC 6 stand-one strand and figuring out what that would look like covering a solid area, or making lines….how tight of a curve or a point could i make with this stitch and what adjustments in the sttich would i need to make in order to do what i wanted….now i know! First i drew out the words…Chains of thread and chain stitched the letters..then i kept chain stitching lines with curves and made some shapes. Then I made some more lines within the shapes to make some patterns and started filling in the areas with chain stitch. 99% of the surface on this piece is chain stitch and there is some long and short and satin stitch filling in. I did that not becuase i couldn;t have used the chain stitch but because by this time i was a little tired of doing it…….lol…..you can see how that might happen I am sure.

Next up for my exploration of the chain stitch is to use a larger diameter fiber.I know this will result in open spaces in the stitch unless i pull it tight or make short sttiches so one of the challenges will be to decide to fill in the open space or leave it as is.

Bloggere still has not fixed the comments thing so if you are so inclined…here is my email: katiejayinpaATgmailDOTcom

